Mayor Joe Hogsett announces new class of students to serve on
Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council

Fourteen teens selected from across Marion County to provide a voice on community issues, serve as advisors to city leaders

Mayor Joe Hogsett announced 14 new students will complete the 2019-2020 class of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council (MYLC). These teens will join 11 returning members of the inaugural group which began meeting monthly last July. This diverse group of 25 juniors and seniors in high school will represent the interests of Indianapolis youth, providing feedback for the mayor and other city leaders on issues that affect the community.

“I am excited to welcome these talented young men and women to the discussion table, with an experience that is truly an immersion into local government,” said Mayor Joe Hogsett. “We not only look forward to hearing the unique and thoughtful perspectives from each student, but also to building upon the success of the council’s first year and developing the next generation of civic leaders.”

First announced by Mayor Hogsett in April of last year, the MYLC seeks to develop new leaders and elevate the role of young people in making Indianapolis a safer, stronger, and more welcoming city. The group represents high schools in all nine Indianapolis townships and reflects the community’s rich diversity. The council is made possible by the Lilly Endowment, The Indianapolis Foundation (a CICF affiliate), Leadership Indianapolis, and the Marion County Commission on Youth.

The MYLC saw its first group of student leaders graduate last month in a ceremony at the Indiana State Museum. The new students announced today will complete the 2019-2020 class and add their diverse perspectives to monthly meetings with the mayor and other city leaders, lending youth insight on issues facing the community as a whole, as well as specifically in their neighborhoods. Orientation for this year’s class will take place on Friday, July 26.

The members of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Council are as follows:

New for 2019-20

Angel-Hannah Akinleye – Riverside High School
Steve Akinterinwa – Ben Davis University High School
Katherine Dolen – Christel House Academy South

Mateo Escobedo – Lawrence Central High School
Madeline Felts – Bishop Chatard High School
Nikhil Gloyeske – Franklin Central High School
Natanya Katz – Brebeuf Jesuit High School
Joshua MacKinnon – Purdue Polytechnic High School
Grace Moore – Lawrence Central High School
Mangtin Par – Perry Meridian High School
Sui Len Par – Perry Meridian High School
Darnell Perkins Jr. – Pike High School
Cadyn Waxingmoon – Homeschool
Reese Wiley – Roncalli High School

Returning from 2018-19

Ranya Abedelmalik – Shortridge High School
Katie Baker – Roncalli High School
Amina Dalal – Ben Davis High School
Curshuna Harvey – Warren Central High School
Helen Hughes – Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School
Tara Kalia – Franklin Central High School
Adriyanna Staten – Ben Davis University High School
Arat Palacios-Ricaño – Herron High School
Sophia Pantzer – International School of Indiana
Hayden Redelman – Bishop Chatard High School
Alli Shuffitt – Warren Central High School